geezer94

Old Guy Photography

Snapper Days

1 Comment

Springtime means it is time to dust off the antique Snapper lawnmower and prepare for a Spring and Summer season of cutting the front, back and JEMCSC_8268-1back-forty part of the yard. Fuel, oil and the mower belts had to be inspected and a ton of yellowish-green pine pollen had to be cleaned off the seat and control surfaces.

The battery received a four hour charge and the first start of the season was surprisingly easy. I even drove the old mowing machine down to the back road … and back. No problem presented itself except I was ready about a week before the grass actually needed mowing.

I love mowing the grass. It is a time to sing, whistle and think about nothing … yep … think about absolutely nothing. It is a time to myself with few intrusions … well except for when I run into something like steel poles concreted into the ground, fence posts, vehicle fenders, or thick bushes. I will not speak of the time I rode over the front yard embankment.

Mowing day came with bright sunshine. I waited patiently for nine-thirty in the morning out of courtesy for my next door neighbor. JEMDSC_8814-1We don’t want to antagonize a good neighbor with mowing sounds ruining his morning rest should he be sleeping late. The antique Snapper started without a single problem and off I went towards the back forty. The first grass cutting of the new season. Sunshine and a three or four mile an hour wind blowing in my face.

What possibly could possibly go wrong? Well … three passes from the back porch to the back road and the Snapper didn’t want to turn right. I was making wide turns that carried me close to obstructions I really had intentions of avoiding. It was then when I noticed the left front tire had gone flat. I nursed the machine back to the porch, propped the left of the mower deck up with an old clunk of concrete and removed the tire. It was worn out, dry rotted and unfixable.  So … off to the Snapper dealer.

The small tube had a hole in it but was patched with no difficulty. And, a new tire was installed on the rim and despite the serious deflation of my wallet and the lost repair time, I was in good spirits. As I headed back into the backyard, I notice a slight resistance in the turning abilities of the old Snapper. For the moment, I wrote that off as the old tire and new tire disparity. It was after I had finished the yard and was heading down the side of the house to park the machineJEMDSC_8817-1 that I noticed the other front tire was flat. Really?

The Snapper man wasn’t surprised to see me again. I guess he has seen it all at one time or the other. Soon, he will have the flat tire replaced and I will be on my way again. In a short week, it will be grass cutting time again. This time,  I will be ready with two new tires on the front, and smiling as I have the sunshine and a three or four mile an hour wind blowing in my face.

Next week … Night Photographs  To see more  photographs go to oldguyphotography.com

Author: geezer94

I was told by my grandfather that if you are destined to hang you'll never drown. I have never been afraid of water . . .

One thought on “Snapper Days

  1. Now John that sounds like something that would happen to me. I have never had a lawn to mow so I don’t know what it feels like to ride around the back 40 thinking of nothing. Unfortunately I live in a landscaped development and I’m not responsible for the care or maintenance of the grounds. I always thought I wanted to have that but lately I have changed my mind thinking that it is way too much work. I can just see you tooling around your land. Must be a cool thing to do. Wishing you a summer of fun from mowing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

