geezer94

Old Guy Photography

Down The Road …

Leave a comment

Just after scouting out a photographic location, I drove home through North Jamestown. It was then I noticed the horses at the Mitza Smith Horse JEMDSC_1235-1And Small Critter Refuge were down close to the fence bordering a dead-end side road. Well, not all of them but a good photo-opts worth. I just parked in the road and walked over to the fence. I had an 18-105 mm lens on the Nikon which was adequate for what I had in mind.

The horses were great; letting me get all the images I wanted. It was when I was about to wrap it up that they made a beeline for the fence. Now I know little about horses. Back in Tennessee my Grandfather raised hogs and the only encounter I had with a horse was an unauthorized ride ending with me being thrown into a dirty water pond.

I do know they will kick you unconscious, eat a straw hat in a minute, push you down and bite the fire out of you. Common sense tells you when encountering something that large to keep your distance, and resist the urge to put your hand or fingers around their mouths. But … I was safely on the other side of the fence and couldn’t resist rubbing their nose and forehead, carefully, and talking to them like they were large dogs.

JEMDSC_1233-1What I didn’t have was something to eat to give them and that made me feel bad. Honestly in my defense, I don’t know what the creatures eat. I did a shoot of heavy draft horses years ago and had my pockets filled with carrots to give to them. They wouldn’t eat them and acted like they had never seen them. The only one who was happy about my predicament was a Billy Goat who wouldn’t leave me alone.

I contacted Ms Mitza and found out her horses like corn, carrots and apples. When I return again, I will have some treats for them. And that will be soon. The horses are wonderful.

 

Next Week … Mr. Andrew or something current …

To See More Photographs Go To oldguyphotography.com/

Author: geezer94

I was told by my grandfather that if you are destined to hang you'll never drown. I have never been afraid of water . . .

Leave a Reply

