geezer94

Old Guy Photography

Guest Blogger … Cousin Gene …

2 Comments

Today is Thursday, the 2nd day of October, in the year of our Lord, 2014. I am the “guest” bloggist, since the Bloggist-N-Residence, Mr John Moss, is off today. (More off than usual.)

This blog is about a week in a town where I do not live. There was a lot of driving, not only to get there, but while I was there. There was some yard work. There were some repairs done. There was visiting, a lot of eating, and wonderful porch sitting.

DSC_0577

Cousins Enjoying A Fall Day

I started out on a Saturday in September, early before sun-up for my trip. There in the seat next to me was a cooler of Mountain Dew, the wonderful beverage that sustains me (and will eventually do me in). I stopped for breakfast at a Hardee’s, in a town with my name in it. I enjoyed the Hardee’s sausage biscuit, with milk and OJ (not Simpson, either). And the drugs I take daily. Then I was off on the road again. About half way, I stop for fuel for my truck and a large chocolate milk shake at the Dairy Queen for me. That shake is deeee-licious! There rest of the trip was uneventful. Eventually, after about 11 hours and 30 minutes, I make it to my destination.

The River Birch tree in the front yard was in need of a trimming, even though the Bloggist-N-Residence usually trims it. With the assistance of my cousin and her husband, we were able to cut the tree back to a manageable size (for now) and hauled off a sizable load of tree limbs. Their car looked like a bush going down the road, if you happened to be behind them.

Another day, we attacked the bushes in front of the residence. They trimmed up nicely and another load of clippings was on its way to visit the tree limbs from the previous yard work day. (Next time, the back yard!)

The big repair job was the replacement of the very old hot water heater, which was no longer heating anything. It did manage to flip off the main breaker to the entire house. That was fun, all alone, in the dark, after dark, curtains drawn! Anyway the heater was replaced by a company with the same name as Maverick, and all is well now.

Three mornings were eat-out-breakfast days. And was it goooood!!!! Of course, one day was a long tour of the country side to see we were too early and had to return to the usual watering hole. It was still soooo gooood! The fried eggs and toast and pancakes and whatever they ate was wonderful. Can’t wait until next time!

Pie was called for on one day, which was ok, but we miss our special eating establishment, which closed a while back. The hot fudge sundaes were out of this world!

One day my cousin cooked spaghetti. It was great and is my usual request for her to cook me just one home cooked meal. Soup and grilled cheese sandwiches were the order one evening, cooked by both hosts. It is a good thing that I don’t visit all the time. My waist would be considerably larger!!

During all this time here, my favorite activity is the porch-sitting. Whether sitting in the swing or in a chair, it doesn’t matter because they both work well. Watching the grass grow (or the weeds), watching the blue jays snatch up peanuts, watching the traffic go by at various speeds and noise levels, watching the old man sleeping, watching the little bundle of energy called Gretchen run wild (within the leash constraints, that is). All that and more! It is fun to sit on a porch!

The day of my departure arrived, putting an end to all the fun. Get up early, load the truck, turn out the lights, off I go. Mountain Dew at my side, Hardee’s for breakfast in a couple of hours, and 300 mile up the road was a chocolate milkshake waiting for me!

My parting words, to any one who may care, are to find a porch and sit on it a while. It is well worth it. 

Author: geezer94

I was told by my grandfather that if you are destined to hang you'll never drown. I have never been afraid of water . . .

2 thoughts on “Guest Blogger … Cousin Gene …

  1. very impressive !!! I think gene might have missed his calling …he could do this !!!

    and he can sit on a porch also !!!! the simple things in life ….that soooo many people have lost sight of !!!!

    really enjoyed this !!!

    >

    Like

  2. Wow! Uncle Gene wrote a blog entry– amazing! Thanks for having him be a guest blogger! (I will have to follow this– I didn’t know you had a blog!). ~ Julie (#2 of Jerry Lee’s kids)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

