geezer94

Old Guy Photography

It May Have Seemed Like A Good Idea …

1 Comment

Vulture-1It may have seemed like a good idea at the time … to lay out in the middle of the back-forty, appearing to be dead, for the sake of taking photographs of Black Vultures when they came down to investigate a potential meal. Well … it did seem a logical way to get the large birds down close enough to get in the “Awesome” detail capture range. They did have the habit of flying in circles high above the reach of a 300mm lens.

And, if they actually landed, I mean actually landed, I would be able to obtain a series of the much vaulted up-close-and-personal photographs. The possible frames, baring the possibility of extremely numerous physical injuries requiring hospitalization visited upon myself, would be unbelievable.

Or …it seemed to be a logical train of thought, in the same vein, to use the same lying in wait technique to take unusual photographs of small birds getting their sunflower seeds directly from the source. Two purposes achieved for the price of one.

Well . . . so much for logic . . .

It would seem that lying out in the back-forty looking dead only attracts the attention of my Sweetheart, and the local city police or County Sheriffs Deputies. This is especially true if someone calls in and reports you lying dead and being a public eyesore or annoyance. This is not a desirable thing to strive for or accidentally accomplish. There is not a abundance of what you would call “Sense Of Humor” with those type of public officials who answer such calls.

All-in-all …  it boils down to be another instance of pushing outward the boundaries of self- humiliation and severe public embarrassment.

So, for me at this time, there is an “unattainable” photograph. That in a way is a good thing to know. You need to know your boundaries and limitations. And, experience has just taught me that a logical train of thought can, and will given the opportunity, often lead you astray. It will happen. This is especially true when you see the world in frames and few obstacles cannot be climbed or overcome.

l guess my dear Sweetheart was right all along when she expressed stern concerns about my back forty shooting schedule. And . . . I suppose that one of these days I will have to listen closer to her advice. She has that common sense gift that women have and I haven’t, despite my efforts, been able to get my hands on … but … just down the road …

Next Week … Something Interesting or something current …

 

For Additional Photographs Click on This Link

 

Author: geezer94

I was told by my grandfather that if you are destined to hang you'll never drown. I have never been afraid of water . . .

One thought on “It May Have Seemed Like A Good Idea …

  1. It is such a pleasure to read your blog – I love the way you write. I think your ‘playing dead’ plan was an intelligent and imaginative one – such a shame that the funny side of it wasn’t appreciated. It certainly was here. I laughed out loud. I hope someday I can help you get that unattainable shot. The ones you already have are incredible but I guess you’re shooting for the stars/skies/birds 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

