geezer94

Old Guy Photography

The Old Guy . . . Thinking Of Goals . . .

Leave a comment

Before my Diabetic Neurgopathy progressed to a point that I can barely get around, I had a few adventurous photographic goals set. And . . . at times accomplished them with a certain amount of expertise or reasonable degree of competency. Most of the time my triumphs were during night shoots.

Of course every photographic goal does present a certain probability of distraction or measurable degree of risk  . . .

The Old Guy

The Old Guy

Despite freezing temperatures, drunkards, small critters with razor sharp teeth, law enforcement officers or ill-timed bathroom warnings, I had the ability of getting the photograph. Even a disastrous suspender failure on an elevated train platform did not deter me from accomplishing another of my ambitious goals.

When back in Kentucky one of my first adventures was an attempt of get a special photograph of the Wolf Creek Dam.

The boat ramp at the dam was cut from a steep hill that runs down to the lake. The resulting high bluff is approximately a hundred or so feet high. It is an impressive ridge and plateau and in the partly cloudy light . . . the lake and dam would be impressive.

I had seen from the road leading across the dam, a possible way to get up on the plateau. If I could climb up about eight feet, I would be on the back door edge of the ridge. Walking along that line would lead me to the perfect spot for my proposed photograph.

The eight foot climb that I had before me was comprised of sand, dirt, and rock with tree roots and various other indistinguishable vegetation growing freely from the face of the ridge. it was a formable task with a heavy camera bag strapped to my back.

I struggled to the top of the embankment and didn’t look back. I also didn’t look down since there are times when I get dizzy being as tall as I am.

Wolf Creek Dam From The Opposite End

Wolf Creek Dam From The Opposite End Of The Intended Photograph. The Silver hill In The Upper Right corner Was My Unsuccessful Vantage Point.

Halfway along the ridge, I got down in the grass and crawled close to the edge of the plateau and looked down. Oh my goodness . . . I knew I was way up there from the appearance of the lake and dam. That knowledge didn’t keep the nervous chills from running up and down my legs. I guess the ridge would be as close as I would get to Rooftopping.

It only took a couple of moments to reach my objective. I sat in the cool grass a good six to eight feet from the plateau edge. It was a spot that caused me little nervousness. The view was without question beyond spectacular. Below me was the lake, the surrounding lush forest, and the Wolf Creek Dam.

Unfortunately, the cloud cover I had been counting on had dissipated and the morning sun was too low, in my eyes, and too strong for a successful photograph. I would have to come back in the late afternoon and have the correct lighting provided by the setting sun.

I navigated the ridge in reverse without any difficulty, but at the eight foot climbing spot I encountered a problem. I fell the last four feet. The tree root I was using as a hand hold pulled loose from the bank and like a Saturday morning cartoon character I ended up free falling heavily to the ground.

I was fortunate my face, chest and groin area absorbed most of the traumatic encounter with the rocks, dirt, weeds and assorted highway trash including numerous beer cans covering the ground. My camera case and equipment riding on my back were fine and ready for the next adventure.

When I think of photograph goals, I think of going back and getting that photograph. But, the time since has ravaged my feet and legs. I don’t think I still have what it takes to get such a spectacular shot. Though my difficulties limit my abilities, they don’ t keep me of thinking about it as a possibility. Just maybe . . . if the sun is just right . . . or the day is cloudy . . . and my Sweetheart doesn’t read about my intentions or aspirations …

 

For Additional Photographs Click on This Link

Author: geezer94

I was told by my grandfather that if you are destined to hang you'll never drown. I have never been afraid of water . . .

Leave a Reply

