geezer94

Old Guy Photography

The Old Guy … Youthful Memories … Red Rooster …

6 Comments

When I was a young and not yet considered a man with manly responsibilities or recognition, I hunted alone throughout the large hog lots and forests with an air rifle and later a long bow. The long bow was a challenge since it was taller than myself and I had to be careful with the arrows. They were deadly and expensive. I had six total and couldn’t afford to loose a one of them.

Sunday Dinner Chicken

Sunday Dinner Chicken Strutting Around … Like It Was Monday …

On non-hunting days or lazy-as-possible days, I would often sit in the swing that hung from a huge old Oak tree next to my Grandfather’s garage and puttering around workshop. This spot also included the infamous workbench where many a Sunday Dinner chicken met their maker when encountering the business end of my Grandfather’s single-bladed axe. I was the one delegated to chase after the chicken’s headless body with a galvanized bucket. Often in my dreams I can still hear his laughter.

The day would unfold before me as I looked down from the top of the hill. Occasionally, farm trucks or cars would pass by. Each of them no matter their size produced a large cloud of greyish-white gravel dust that settled thickly on the trees and Blackberry vines that lined both sides of the roadway.

Almost no one walked the road except occasional vagabonds up to no good and the reason, I was told, why there were several shotguns in the house. In the early morning hours field hands could be seen heading for the large cotton fields half a mile away as the crows would fly. I would often see the them late in the day coming back from their labors. The small share-croppers houses were at the base of hill below my Grandfather’s place.

The red rooster would get pace-back-and-forth nervous when the dog wasn’t napping underfoot.

So, on non-hunting and or exciting exploration days, I relaxed in the shade swing by the garage with a small red rooster sitting in my lap. Now the small bird was rather docile of nature and didn’t seem to mind me being the dominate member of our small group. It wasn’t real happy with my Grandfather’s German Shepard being around, but that dog mostly slept in the shade of the green apple tree, especially if someone left the lid of the minnow bucket open. The dog loved fresh fishing minnows and would consume a dollars worth in no time at all. The red rooster would get pace-back-and-forth nervous when the dog wasn’t napping and was underfoot.

Anyway, the little red rooster wasn’t like the large white ill-tempered roosters that roamed the chicken yard behind the back porch. I had a few run-ins with the ill-tempered bunch, and feared them until I learned to treat them all like a football whenever they would make a run at me. It didn’t take too many football type encounters before they feared me. That is except one severely ill-tempered white rooster that my Grandmother snatched up one morning. I thought she was going to wring its neck, but she gave it to the share-croppers for a fourth of July celebration dinner.

The little red rooster wasn’t the best pet possible. It listened to authoritative commands much like my Grandfather’s dog who gave every impression of being deaf and rather dumb. The small bird was deathly afraid of my Grandmother and I guess for good reason. A quick way to become a Sunday fried dinner was to get too close to her. Out of harms reach was a survival practice best remembered at all times by the critters on the place. This was especially true if you tasted good salted, fried and in thick gravy.

The small bird would, on occasion, follow me around the house and yard, but it had a serious wandering off quality. “Red” did enjoy sitting in my lap during the afternoons and swinging. It was probably a heat of the day thing since it was covered with feathers during a sweltering Tennessee Summer.

Many long hours were spent sitting with my red rooster in my lap. But … I did learn one thing quickly. If the little red rooster started quivering and shaking, and making low poultry sounds, you best quickly pick it up and set it down beside you. QUICKLY, was the key word. The odd behavior of the little rooster signaled without fail that your trousers would be badly soiled if you didn’t IMMEDIATELY act. Immediately also meant not to daydream or become relaxed in your attitude towards a working knowledge of poultry inclinations.

And … badly soiled trousers was something severely embarrassing and the last thing you wanted to try to explain to your Grandmother or Grandfather.

*******

 

Next Week … Something Interesting or something current …

For Additional Photographs Click on This 500 px Link …

For More Additional Photographs Click On This Flicker Link …

Author: geezer94

I was told by my grandfather that if you are destined to hang you'll never drown. I have never been afraid of water . . .

6 thoughts on “The Old Guy … Youthful Memories … Red Rooster …

  1. Ah, I so enjoy your writings. Your line: The small bird was deathly afraid of my Grandmother and I guess for good reason…..when I read it initially. I read “for food reason.” 🙂 Tough lady, your grandmom! Nice visiting here again and again. Cheers, Rose

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Ms Rose … you are indeed kind and so thoughtful. I almost didn’t post this because I thought it would be of little interest to anyone. Your encouragement is much appreciated. More stories in time plus original poems. (I did enjoy reading about your trophy husband … I have a trophy Sweetheart … she’s having a time of it now but she’s a keeper)
      g

      Liked by 1 person

      • My honey laughs when I call him that! I don’t think you should worry about whether or not folks would want to read what you write. You can probably write about a thimble and make it sound amazing, Did Red escape the table? Would love to hear more of your adventures with him in your writings, and what a gallant thing for him to warn you about his need to go #2! LOL.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ms Rose, what happened to Red is another story for down the road. Thank you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for sharing this memory. Your writings create such a vivid image that I even hear the sounds the chicken make 🙂 I remember all my chores in my Grandparents’ farmyard. Who would chase after the headless chicken? Of course the youngest in the family 🙂
    Thank you again!
    Inese

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ms Inesephoto … more stories to come … looking back makes me think of the song “Summer time … and the living is easy …” Thank you again. I love to share and you make the effort so rewarding! 🙂
    g

    Like

Leave a Reply

