geezer94

Old Guy Photography

The Old Guy … Hospital Melodrama..

11 Comments

Hospitals seldom change. I can wheel myself into a corner of the main lobby of the local hospital and watch without notice a grand menagerie pass slowly by. No matter the time of day or night, the procession of young and old, stepladder generations, wild children with no social limits and the bewildered trudge back and forth. Their expressions once of distinguished notability and individual independence, in time merge into a blurred grey commonality. I join them because it is necessary …

Tense Moments ... Waiting For Transport ...

Tense Moments … Waiting For Transport …

It is a familiar occurrence … my Sweetheart had great difficulty breathing and an emergency room trip was necessary. Upon arrival, she took a bad turn and lifesaving measures were taken. She was put on a machine that breathed for her, IV lines were started, and a collection of drugs were administered.

She was knocked out by one of the drugs and prepared for transport to another hospital in Somerset, Kentucky. This was required since the local hospital didn’t have kidney dialysis equipment.

I followed behind after gathering items which were needed concerning a prolonged hospital stay, feeding the Gretchen dog and locking the place up. When I got the the hospital, my Sweetheart was already in her intensive care room. I slept in a chair in order to catch the early morning doctors rounds, and any scheduled procedures such as first thing in the morning dialysis treatment. There is nothing like hospital chair sleep … it is noteworthy being that it is routinely interrupted by everyone employed by the hospital. Really, blood drawn at three-thirty in the morning?

DSC_0187

Resting Under Sedation …

She lies in fitful sleep in a bed and city not her own. I shutter seeing the multiple IV lines in her arm. She is so small and fragile and it grieves me to see her this way but there is nothing I can do except answer rapid questions asked in a sense of extreme urgency. Yes, no, yes, no … same as last time … I feel like a marionette’s puppet.

Early morning dialysis and I am chased out of the room. In four hours I can return and best be on time if she is awake. With the extent of her dementia, she often looks for me near the end of her treatments. If I am not there, I am announced as untrustworthy, disloyal and much worse. Her accusations just roll off me because I know the extent of her medical and mental conditions, but when strangers are around, I get some looks that are often laced with suspicion.

Days pass slowly. Tedious boredom compounded by the hours passed staring into the hallway or the television. Medicines and labs, doctors talking cautiously … it is the fuel of a place with uncountable small horrors yet to come out from a cabinet. I am fortunate, this time, that I am only a visitor.

I can almost wheel around the length and breath of this place with impunity … but I see more than I wish, and grieve for the man in the room next to my Sweethearts … he passed away in the early morning hours. After breakfast, a man from the local funeral home slowly wheeled a cart down the hallway. On top of the cart was a long red velvet bag.

Going home day is a masterpiece of profound boredom multiplied by severe, but fairly managed, impatience. We are veterans of the procedure, by way of going through the ritual too many times in the last two years. A half-dozen doctors have to sign off on my Sweetheart’s discharge and the last doctor is often late or hard to find. It would seem that discharge day follows a time tested script or demands the execution of a required course taught in medical or nursing school.

Getting home was wonderful. But … haunting my thoughts is the realization that the next trip back to the hospital can be only a struggled breath away …

 

 

 

Next Week … Something Interesting or something current …

For Additional Photographs Click on This 500 px Link …

For More Additional Photographs Click On This Flicker Link …

Author: geezer94

I was told by my grandfather that if you are destined to hang you'll never drown. I have never been afraid of water . . .

11 thoughts on “The Old Guy … Hospital Melodrama..

  1. I am so sorry you are both going through this.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hello John – thinking and praying for you both during this very tough time xxx

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Hospital Chair Sleeping! That term should be included in the dictionary, it’s such a unique kind of almost-sleeping. You’re exhausted and worried yet you can only manage a few minutes’ sleep at a time. Not to mention the discomfort of the chair. You’re a warrior, G. I hope you’ve managed to find a little help here and there. I also hope today will be a bit more relaxing for you.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Dialysis day Ms Danica … so it was a long one with a interesting twist … l ended up eating oatmeal for breakfast and dinner. Plus it rained on my parade … all day long …

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I absolutely love your words. They get to me.
    I’ll be glad if you could check my blog as well. Take care. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I am sorry to hear about this experience. It is very hard to watch a loved one deteriorate from dementia and the physical problems and hospital visits just add more and more stress. It is so exhausting for you.
    You are a very loving husband. Hopefully the support you get here helps a little. If you can blog on a cell phone it might make waiting in waiting areas easier.
    Take care and thank you for sharing.
    Annie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gentlekindness, I blog on my tablet when possible … often during the four hours of dialysis … or in the surgery waiting room … they are kinda like stolen moments. Sometime I can’t do much … when I am anxious, angery, hopeful … you just never know how the hospital will play you …

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes it is hard to concentrate at the hospital. Hospitals are not fun places to have to be.
        They seem more and more like they want to get finished with people asap and shove them out the door….at least in New Jersey.
        There is a lack of compassion.
        I hope you were able to have a few compassionate healthcare workers.

        When I worked in healthcare I was scolded more than once for being too compassionate and taking an extra few minutes to listen to someone who needed to talk or have someone hold their hand.

        My thoughts are with you. It is a very difficult and sad situation. Dementia is one of the hardest illnesses for loved ones to go through.

        Blessings,
        Annie

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Hang in geezer and all the best to you both.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

