geezer94

Old Guy Photography

The Old Guy … Handicapped Accessible …

7 Comments

In order to provide some type of size perception, I parked my wheelchair in front of the restroom, as seen in the photograph on the right. No, your eyes are not playing tricks on you.  The featured photograph shows an actual public accessible hospital hallway restroom. And, the door is not some type of elaborate photographic illusion … the restroom door is actually as small as it looks.

The wheelchair would not fit through the door … or into the room …

handicapped-1

Restroom Stop …

Granted, the restroom is not posted or advertised as handicapped accessable … but really, this facility is in a hallway viewable by most, if not all, elevator traffic from or to the floor. Despite its distractions and obvious limitations, this little piece of heaven has become my favorite fortress of momentary solitude.

Exiting my wheelchair and hobbling into the small specialized room, a problem immeditely came into play. When the door was closed, there was no automatic lighting configuration and it was dark as night. And … there was no air freshener anywhere …

Oh … there needed to be a large amount of air freshener in that small catastrophic space.

DSC_0216

There Was A Strange Whirring Sound …

Now, I am not afraid of the dark so the sudden lost of part of my limited senses wasn’t that disconcerting. The small restroom was a square room shorter than the full extension of my two arms. I did jump a bit when a measured whirring sound penetrated the darkness several times as I shifted myself around to address my lack of orientation.  Whew, a whirring sound to my left and I reached out. Once again the sound, and again, then I realized it was the automatic paper towel dispenser shooting out an approperate, and pre-determined measure of towels when any body part crossed the path of the senser.

Again and again with the paper towels as I searched for the light switch. Left and right, up and down, I searched the walls with practiced fingertips and the accumulated paper towels started to impede my search efforts. Finally, enough was enough. There were other restrooms all over the place and, I needn’t be toyed with by a dark place and unteathered electronic device.

I opened the door and took a step out into the hallway. Bright flourscent light flooded over me and I had to grimace when I saw the large pile of paper towels resting on the semi-clean tile floor. It was only then I noticed a light switch on the hallway wall just under the restroom sign. Out of curiousity, I moved the switch to the on position. A small light over the restroom sink flickered several times before burning brightly.

Yeah … that would be  about right.

 

 

Next Week … Something Interesting or something current …

For Additional Photographs Click on This 500 px Link …

For More Additional Photographs Click On This Flicker Link …

Author: geezer94

I was told by my grandfather that if you are destined to hang you'll never drown. I have never been afraid of water . . .

7 thoughts on “The Old Guy … Handicapped Accessible …

  1. How ridiculous! And funny :). Your description reminded me of an airplane restroom. This type of configuration is wildly inappropriate for a hospital. At least you made it out okay and nobody mistook your wheelchair for hospital/communal property and rolled away with it.

    Like

    • Ms Danica, my wheelchair at the Somerset, Kentucky hospital disappeared for three days before a staff member found it out back. I had to get my wheelchair that I kept and used at church. I was not a happy camper with the situation though my chair did almost look like all of the hospital conveyances. In hospitals, handicapped accessible means there is a wide stall. It doesn’t mean you don’t have to fight your way through a door with a monster return spring just to get in the place. The next time you go into a public restroom … notice the resistance of the door when opening it … the designers should be sat in a chair, pointed to one of their restrooms and told “there you go”.
      g

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I always wonder why do they install these switches outside? It is a hospital, for heaven’s sake. What if someone turns the light off and I am in the middle of my business, having my arm in a sling, or using crutches? What would I do in the darkness?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ms inese, I had no problem getting plenty of paper towels …. but it was awkward, my wheelchair wouldn’t fit inside and the first place I sat down was on the trash can …
      g

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh boy, they should have had a specialized wheelchair accessible toilet in the hospital… It was a whole ordeal, and then you had to get out too.

        Like

Leave a Reply

