geezer94

Old Guy Photography

The Old Guy … Malcomb The Rat …

6 Comments

A while back, not really so long ago to be somewhat more accurate, I stood looking out the kitchen window and noticed to my amusement a movement in the yard. It was a rat that came to rest under one of my bird feeders. It quickly filled its mouth and cheeks with Black Oil Sunflower seeds that a host of feeding birds had either dropped or flung out of the feeder. When full, the rat scampered across the yard, across the driveway, and into my neighbors yard where it disappeared into a small opening between a trash can and discarded flower pot.

In a very short while, the rat returned to its horde of Sunflower seeds under the feeder. Once again, the cycle was repeated but this time I timed the sequence … ninety-six seconds or abouts for a round trip. A conformation timing peaked my interest and I retrieved my camera.

Generally … critters that hang around the place get named. Malcomb The Rat seemed appropriate for this energetic and industrious creature …

I set up on the back porch with a comfortable chair, tripod, and camera sporting a 300mm lens. To my left was an additional chair serving as a coffee and sandwich stand. Sighting through the lens, I decided to capture Malcomb coming out through his opportunistic opening. In the first thirty minutes, my confidence level was high because there was food, drink and I had seen the captured frame in my mind. Into the latter half of the first hour, I was seriously wondering to where the little beggar had disappeared.

I know patience is supposed to be a virtue, but at the beginning of the second half of the second hour of perching precariously, it was very warm on the. back porch. I had already sweated through one shirt and was running out of nibblers, coffee, and warm and fuzzy feelings for the, not so popular anyway, rodent family of small creatures. I also had acquired a stiff neck from bending over and looking into the viewfinder. Anticipation unfulfilled is often a direct contributor to such a troubling phenomenon.

The start of the third hour of my Photo-shoot turned into an agonizingly tepid quest for the illusive. Then … I had a miss. I must have looked up, closed my eyes or had been distracted or enthralled by a mental gymnastic game of’ ‘How Blue Is That?’ … Malcomb was already across the yard and under the bird feeder.

I didn’t dare breathe … much less move …

I was still counting seconds when he suddenly turned and raced across the yard to his bastion of safety in or behind the trash can. If he remained true to his form … I had about six minutes before he appeared again. No matter what hurt or tried to distract me, I had to stay focused. Soon, the three hour marathon would be over.

Peering through the viewfinder, I fine-tuned the focus of the camera, fidgeted with this and that and double checked my settings a third and fourth time. Everything was in place except I was out of coffee, cheese sandwiches, and peanut butter and crackers. Malcomb the rat was late.

Moments passed at an agonizingly slow pace. Then there was a movement at the flowerpot opening. I pressed on the shutter release and caught air … Malcomb had looked out and then ducked back into his sanctuary. I was quick but not quick enough. Another near miss and a grimace crossed my face. The law of averages was working against me. Malcomb possibly could disappear.

It crossed my mind that the small rodent had seen me or heard the shutter cycle open, close.  Again he looked out and I just missed him. He was looking out, ducking back in, and back out of the small opening. … I thought our eyes met but dismissed it. Twenty waste shots and then I got the shot I had seen earlier. I got him and an insurance shot.

Malcomb ran across the yard, the driveway and stopped under the bird feeder. I didn’t pay that much attention. I was stretching my neck and trying to shake off three plus hours of tension. Ninety-six seconds or abouts … and he was gone.

Malcomb-1

Malcomb The Rat …

******

 

Next Week … Something Interesting or something current …

For Additional Photographs Click on This 500 px Link …

For More Additional Photographs Click On This Flicker Link …

Author: geezer94

I was told by my grandfather that if you are destined to hang you'll never drown. I have never been afraid of water . . .

6 thoughts on “The Old Guy … Malcomb The Rat …

  1. That is a great shot, G! It reminds me of an image from a nursery rhyme.

    Like

    • Thank you Ms Danica … this is one of my favorite photos … another was of a large ill-tempered attack rooster before we had a kicking contest the day after taking its photograph …

      Liked by 1 person

      • It’s a wonderful photo. I don’t usually find rats appealing, but your Malcomb is charming.
        Did you also post the one of the ill-tempered attack rooster? I’m glad that you won the kicking contest!

        Like

      • Ms Danica … No post written for that photograph … I don’t know if or how a blog post could be written showing “self-defence in the face of a large ill-tempered attacking rooster” … how it would quell the shouts and accusations of animal cruelty or abuse …

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post-fantastic shot-worth the wait.

    Like

Leave a Reply

