geezer94

Old Guy Photography

The Old Guy … Back In ’07 … The Postcard Project ..

3 Comments

JEMDSC_0284-1

The 52 Card Postcard Project Of 2007

Back in 2007, I thought it would be good for me to do some serious work on my photographic discipline. At that time, it was popular to do a “365 Project” or one photograph per day for a year.

When looking closely at that type of daily project, I found around, say day thirty, people started taking photographs of their feet, single or together, sitting and standing, mirror reflections, flowering or non-flowering bushes, dogs, cats, and food dishes. Maybe that type of project would be too intellectually demanding to start with. I kept looking around. I didn’t want to fall into a common black hole.

Since I was an old hand of making my own “Greetings Cards”, I decided take a photograph a week, and print it out on 110# card stock as a post card. Each card would be hand addressed and have a personal note of humor, worldly observations or sage wisdom. For some of those topic classifications, I did have a book or two that I could use to look up such items.

At the time I was living in Fredericksburg, Virginia, so photographic subjects were not scarce by any means. Fifty-two photographs, fifty-two postcards times a mailing list of twenty people. The Postcard Project would be challenging to produce. Teaching myself photographic discipline, on the other hand, would prove more than I estimated, time consuming and very, very costly. I did give some thought to maybe a lesser project but shelved the impulse.

politicalscan-1

My deadline was a Tuesday mailing and fortunately, I never missed one. It got close at times, but I managed even though several times I mailed the cards from my day job.

I made every eighth postcard what I called a “Political Humor or Political Quotation” card. I did have a fresh source of information on the topic of politics since I was a newly reformed politician that had just lost, by a large margin,  a political campaign for public office.

The Political Card was a selfie back before I knew of or the term “Selfie” became popular. The political cards did show there was still times during the postcard project when I still had too much unsupervised time to myself late at night.

For a first project I learned a lot. I honed a degree of patience that would later let me wait for hours for a small creature to crawl out of a hole … just to get a possible image or catch a bird on the wing. The point of the whole is that I learned a lesson not soon forgotten.

Would I do it again … not at all; been there done that. I will do something in the near future quite different, but it must be challenging. The project I have on-going now I will write about when it is about half finished. I am quite pleased with the way it is turning out.

*******

 

 

Next Week Or So … I Just Don’t Know …

For Additional Photographs Click on This 500 px Link …

For More Additional Photographs Click On This Flicker Link …

Author: geezer94

I was told by my grandfather that if you are destined to hang you'll never drown. I have never been afraid of water . . .

3 thoughts on “The Old Guy … Back In ’07 … The Postcard Project ..

  1. Wonderful! I love the postcard project! The patience you describe reminds me of your mouse picture…the one that looks like it’s straight out of a storybook.
    I’m really looking forward to the unveiling of your new project. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ms Danica, Thank you so much. Patience is something I treasure and is instrumental in photographing my beloved Blue Jays and Hummingbirds. It also comes into play when waiting for the sun to peek in and out of the clouds. I got a beautiful waterfall photograph playing tag with the sun after climbing into a deep hole in order to get just the right angle for the shoot. It took all morning to get the shot. You will love my new project. It requires original photographs and a ton of hand lettered notes, inserts and envelopes. More later.
    g

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The quote that goes with your selfie could be recycled today.
    Discipline and patience in photography are the key words. Look forward to your new project! Love you bird pictures.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

