geezer94

Old Guy Photography

The Old Guy … Miscellaneous Chicken Parts … Bones Included …

6 Comments

I have a deep fondness for many things related to food and food in general. And occasionally, certain random sights, sounds or smells remind me of long ago memories and culinary experiences. Especially those recollections of treasures compiled during a wonderful time growing up. Often coming to the forefront, I remember those magnificent baked, fried or roasted golden brown treasures of beef and King Pork. As a young man growing up in west Tennessee and Memphis, chicken, beef and pork were easily accessible.

Being brought up with fried everything especially pork and pork products, it must have mystified my parents and grandparents that I would pass on chicken prepared in any style or submerged under any number of flavorful gravies. In retrospect, my distaste of chicken oriented meals could come from the fact that when a Sunday chicken went to the chopping block … I was the one with the galvanized bucket chasing wildly after the headless body. Those circumstances at my expense, afforded great amusement to my grandfather. He would, with exaggerated gestures, point and shout out instructions on how to corral the elusive dead bird. This was accomplished between bouts of uninhibited laughter … more-so if the bird flopped into the garage and had to be retrieved from under his automobile.

A Reasonable Representation Or Facsimile Of A Co-conspirator

A Reasonable Representation Or Facsimile Of A Co-conspirator Begging For Food On The Back Porch

I don’t know why, but later in life I had to grow to like fried chicken, or chicken related products in general … again. That lasted only a few years. Ironically, after my last crock-pot whole chicken which resembled a pale dead body just lying there in a limp contorted position and a fast-food chicken pot pie, which was disgusting, I have returned to not eating chicken … again.

JEMDSC_6526-1A

    Replica Of The Offending Chicken Pot Pie In Question

And to note the self-sacrifice and depth of personal deprivation … I had at one time … really, really liked chicken pot pies. I even didn’t care about all the contents inside them including miscellaneous chicken parts, caged or free range and the likes. Beaks, lips, ears and feet … it was all good … all good sort of like inexpensive commercially canned Vienna Sausages. I drew the line in the sand when I started pulling large pieces of chicken bones out of a highly advertised fast-food chicken pot pie that I had paid a small fortune for at the drive-thru window. It was very, very disappointing.

Now I know, being a reasonable fellow known not to judge or make hasty condemnations, that though the chicken actually per-say was not guilty of poor preparation or presentation … it could be held to account as an essential co-conspirator to the horrid incident involving the not so complete consumption of the fast-food chicken pot pie in question. I’ll stop at that and let it rest there … except …

And no … I have not weakened my resolve, touched, nibbled, consumed or secretly when everyone’s backs are turned, licked another chicken pot pie except to produce a replica chicken pot pie.

****

 

Next Week … I just don’t know …

For Additional Photographs Click on This 500 px Link …

For More Additional Photographs Click On This Flicker Link …

 

Author: geezer94

I was told by my grandfather that if you are destined to hang you'll never drown. I have never been afraid of water . . .

6 thoughts on “The Old Guy … Miscellaneous Chicken Parts … Bones Included …

  1. Interesting and thought-provoking, G! I wonder how many of us would change our diets if we were responsible for our meals from field or factory to the dinner table?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ms Danica … I believe there would be a lot of distressed and hungry people if they knew more about the food chain … and look at me talk … my dinner experiment was an utter disaster this evening …
      thank you for your kind and generous comments.
      g

      Like

  2. I like your rooster picture 🙂 It would be a shame to put him in a pie…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a terrible thing to make a child do..and no wonder you had an aversion to chicken!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

