geezer94

Old Guy Photography

The Old Guy … Gretchen … Every Day A Wonder …

12 Comments

JEMDSC_6523-1

       Gretchen … Princess Of Her Domain

Small dogs do get into your heart so easily. Gretchen has been a great comfort to me and at times … a great pain. She is headstrong to say the least, which I suppose is common to those animals that weigh about four pounds and are height and size challenged. Not that she feels or knows so. When confronted by a large field cat, there is no back down in her. That is troubling at times, and I dread one of those large field cats getting a hold of her. Thankfully, the large cats know how far her leash runs and stay out of reach or otherwise pay little attention to her barked warnings. .

Ninety percent of the day is playtime and not too much interrupts her schedule. In the early morning she wakes me by dropping a toy or her tennis ball in my face. We wrassle for a while and then I give up and get up. Next is kicking the tennis ball out of the kitchen while I try to fix my oatmeal breakfast. During breakfast she sits on the back of the couch and looks out the window. If I take too long eating breakfast or sitting at the computer, she jumps on my legs or bumps them with her nose. Her persistence means it’s time to play throw-fetch and tug-of-war with her toys. Now that the days are a bit warmer it also signals time for outside play.

She pauses for lunch, afternoon naps, and dinner. She wakes up wanting to play and grudgingly goes to bed at night after a rough and tumble game of tug-of-war or fetching her small stuffed dog or tennis ball. I have tried to train her to be a porch dog but her favorite thing when not chasing a tennis ball is to be on cat patrol … and everyone knows it by her alert barking at any sign of one in the other yards. she also does not want Doves or Blue Jays in the yard. When she sees or hears them land she is off to the races in a blurr.

JEMDSC_6535-1

Gretchen At Her Lookout Window

Chasing away the birds would be alright except I take photographs of the Blue Jays and other grown feeding birds. I don’t stuff the bird feeder with Black Oil Sunflower seeds for pure enjoyment. It is a treat/reward type working relationship. But thankfully, most of the time the Blue Jays show up, Gretchen is asleep on my legs and doesn’t realize they are close.

I have never seen a dog as small as she is that is so quick, so fast and for the looks of it runs, jumps and disappears on what appears to be chicken legs. Her poor little legs, when seen soaking wet, appear to be no larger that common chicken legs. But she’s strong and strong of heart.

Late at night she climbs up the reclining chair arm and myself and sits, or lays on my shoulder. After her tummy rub she will walk back down and lay on my legs. She likes to sleep on or with me.

JEMDSC_4006-1g

When editing …. this one almost got past me …

Gretchen is a pretty good photographers helper with her riding in the passenger seat or standing on me looking out the driver’s side window. One thing she does love is to watch the horses play in their pastures. I think running horses fascinate her and she could look at them for hours. But, she does occasionally get in the way. Several times as I gently press on the shutter release, I will see two blurry ears popup in the bottom right of the viewfinder.

All in all, Miss. Picky eater is a grand companion and keeps me going. Occasionally, she does get mad at me and I recognize for the most part her moods would be as a result of something I did or didn’t do. But, most of her unhappiness is usually around flea & tick treatment time. I guess it hurts some with her being on the near bottom rung of the 0-10 pound scale.

For a little dog … she is pretty much a keeper though she’s not enthusiastic about being brushed or having hair trimmed. I think I will keep her around … especially since she is in my new Will and few photographic helpers won’t work as cheap. As an added incentive, I have promised her my car if she can learn to use the computer and edit images in Lightroom.

******

 

Next Week Or So … Something Interesting or something current … just don’t know …

For Additional Photographs Click on This Link

Author: geezer94

I was told by my grandfather that if you are destined to hang you'll never drown. I have never been afraid of water . . .

12 thoughts on “The Old Guy … Gretchen … Every Day A Wonder …

  1. She is born to be a model! I love these ears in the picture 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is great !!! Than goodness for Gretchen and all the company (and pestering ) she provides you …. Love your pictures and your writing !!!!

    Like

  3. AAH, she is adorable, thank heavens you have her. wishing you and your little Gretchen
    a Happy Easter. love you 2.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Gretchen is definitely in charge and has you well trained. She is little but she is mighty. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ow, put her hair in a pony tail so the poor little thing can see. What kind of dog is she? Very cute and sounds like a good little pet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ms Sheila, Gretchen is a three year old Yorkie who rules the roost. She is a good one to keep a new widow company. I am not used to having a dog with so much energy or one that wants to play from sunrise to past bedtime. She is also my new photo/assistant and often goes on site with me. She is not a happy camper if her hair is put up and has no hesitation about that fact being known. Thank you for your kind and generous comment.
      g

      Liked by 1 person

      • We have a Shih Tzu so I can relate. She gets eye infections easily, which is why I always worry about hair around the eyes. She pulls her hair bows out before she even gets home from the groomer.

        Like

  6. Ms Sheila, hair bows and ribbons last long enough for a couple of quick photographs. This independent little girl (4l bs) is the very definition of quirky and stubbornness. My Sweetheart loved her and I as well. In the evenings when all is still she jumps up in the recliner and goes to sleep in the crook of my arm. Small dogs and children get away with murder … and they always will.
    g

    Liked by 1 person

  7. gretchen is so adorable -she looks gorgeous. Say she has a fan from a far off country 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

