geezer94

Old Guy Photography

The Old Guy … Poor Chocolate Bunny …

8 Comments

JEMDSC_0630-1

Poor Chocolate Bunny

I have been having a lot of trouble with my blood sugar readings. Being a two shot-a-day diabetic, it has become, regrettable, but a semi-normal pattern. Of late, my morning and evening blood sugar readings have become a roller-coaster ride of hardly tolerable high readings to low readings where the warning signs of low sugar envelope you with short notice or announcement. I will be sitting at the computer or my evening chair to watch a movie and the first warning sign of impending trouble will be that I need to clean my glasses … often it isn’t my glasses.

For myself, blurred vision to loss of vision is normally the first symptom of low blood sugar. Then the cold chills reach my legs and lower back and I become overwhelmed with a feeling of unrestrained panic and physical weakness. I just want to run away, far away … run anywhere, but I can’t. It is then … I know I am in serious trouble.

If lucky, I can walk on wobbly legs to the cabinet and my stash of sugar laden treasures including peanut butter crackers, small chocolate bars and hard candies. Or, I open the refrigerator where I keep an emergency freezer bag of frozen pieces of candy bar.

Several times of late, which is one too many, I have had to crawl on the floor to the cabinet and its ground level doors … One night proved to be a long one when I couldn’t get back up. I slept on the floor and Gretchen probably thought I was crazy. She did finally come to rest against my legs and that was some comfort though the floor is not as comfortable as the couch.

JEMDSC_0631-1

Packaging

Not long ago a friend gave me a boxed large Chocolate Easter Bunny. This was after one of my low sugar instances. She thought that broken apart, the chocolate could be kept in the freezer for emergencies. Well, I waited for awhile thinking it seemed to be a harsh fate for such an excellent culinary example of form molded chocolate magic. I left it lay in the kitchen while I thought on it. There was for the moment, no sense of emergency.

After a night and midday low sugar episode, one after another, my consideration of possible fates of the bunny changed. Poor chocolate bunny, beautifully molded and fated for the freezer compartment, went to the chopping block late one afternoon. I did feel a bit sad but hey we all make donations, and or sacrifices at one time or another. I think it was the chocolate bunny eyes that made the whole “into bite size pieces” process … a bit strange feeling. It wasn’t until the bunny was packaged and placed into the freezer that I started to experience over and over again … “How Strange” it was going to be for a long while.

It was, for the curious of heart, during a low sugar episode quite refreshing to the taste and accomplished the task at hand.

JEMDSC_0635-1

Freezer Bag Poor Chocolate Bunny

******

 

Next Week … Maybe Something Interesting … I just don’t know …

For Additional Photographs Click on This 500 px Link …

For More Additional Photographs Click On This Flicker Link …

Author: geezer94

I was told by my grandfather that if you are destined to hang you'll never drown. I have never been afraid of water . . .

8 thoughts on “The Old Guy … Poor Chocolate Bunny …

  1. I am very sorry for you blood sugar problems, but you made me laugh with your photographs 🙂 These eyes! Aren’t you afraid to open the freezer? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ms inese, taking the light bulb out of the freezer compartment didn’t help … those yellow eyes saw me peeking into the freezer.
    g

    Like

  3. I am sorry for your diabetics.

    Like

  4. Those eyes. Those eyes! Your photo of the bunny watching you from the frig is hilarious! I am horrified at what you are going through with the sugar swings though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ms dorannrule, taking the light out of the freezer compartment didn’t help … they seem to follow you no matter where you stand in the kitchen … Sugar roller coaster today but not too severe …
      g

      Like

Leave a Reply

