geezer94

Old Guy Photography

The Old Guy … Miscellaneous Kitchen Semi-Masterpieces …

1 Comment

JEMDSC_6518-1

Bacon Wrapped Pork Tenderloin With Brussels Sprouts

I cook a lot; much more than one would suppose of a widower. It’s not that I don’t like eating out. But, eating out requires a commitment of  time,  effort, and the acknowledgement that I don’t mind sitting alone in an eatery where I stand out much like the odd white cotton sox in a drawer full of black silk neatly folded pairs.

Ninety-nine point nine percent of the time, I eat my noon and evening meal at home with a small black and tan dog named Gretchen. She is good company, seldom begs for bites, much, and for the most part is non-judgmental. Thankfully, if Gretchen doesn’t like something, say Chili Week or Oatmeal, she leaves it lay and just walks away without condemning gesture or critical comment.

I will go out for breakfast. At one diner, I sit with my brother and sister-in-law and a collection of colorful locals … at the other diner, I sit at the “Old Guys” common table of ex-politicians, citizens-of-note, Ministers, and assorted ne’er-do-wells … it’s become a Wednesday morning tradition …

Pasta Week ...

Pasta Week …

I will go out for breakfast, but I cannot remember the last time I went out for an evening meal. Right now, there is no urge or necessity to venture out into the night except to take random long exposure photographs weather permitting. Only lately has the weather become accommodating.

One influence complicating the thought process of where and when is the simple fact that in a location as small as I live in … there are few places, less than the fingers on one hand, to eat at night that are not fast-food franchises. From here civilization, with a wealth of dining opportunities, is two hours away in any direction.

Trial and error, physical demands, economics, and past influences have helped me get down to the basics when considering a limited but diverse menu for an old widow such as I am. All of which means, I do not, and cannot, stand over a hot stove at noontime or dinner time. I will work the stove when cooking dinner pork tenderloin wrapped in bacon cooked slowly under glass. Or … those wonderful deep fried hand breaded pork steaks I love so much. As with all exceptions, I cook enough for a good meal and the next days lunch and or dinner.  The same principle applies to white beans, white bean soup,

cabbage and cabbage soup.

One pot meals are the way to go …

Deep Fried Pork Steak With Green Beans

Deep Fried Pork Steak With Green Beans

So … I like one pot meals, or masterpieces, often poured over rice, noodles or some other type of pasta. A good size pot of white beans slow cooked with bacon strips and sausage grease serves as another option that can be for three or more days of meals; more if frozen in plastic containers Add ketchup and pieces of red onion and whew …

I also have perfected my Pork Stew in dark gravy, potatoes, peas, carrots and pearl onions. Pork Stew Week has always been a hit along with corkscrew pasta covered with tomato-meat sauce with fresh bell pepper, red onion and Mrs.Dash’s salt-free cut highway weed mixture (herb and garlic). Chili Week has been less than popular and seldom made anymore.

All of my recipes help overcome my Oatmeal breakfast with pork sausage paddy that I have when not visiting one of the diners.

 

****

 

Next Week … I just don’t know …

For Additional Photographs Click on This 500 px Link …

For More Additional Photographs Click On This Flicker Link …

 

Author: geezer94

I was told by my grandfather that if you are destined to hang you'll never drown. I have never been afraid of water . . .

One thought on “The Old Guy … Miscellaneous Kitchen Semi-Masterpieces …

  1. This sounds good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

