geezer94

Old Guy Photography

The Old Guy … The Snapper Mower … A Worthy Adversary … Part 1 of 2

3 Comments

About the middle of the fall season this year past, my Antique Snapper Riding Lawn Mower stopped running. The darn thing just wouldn’t start and the carburetor was designated as the main culprit. This trouble came at bad time since multi-colored leaves from a handful of trees were falling at an accelerated pace. I was, by my estimate, looking at knee deep leaves with nothing to mulch them up with.

Deep in the treasured annuals of lawn mower maintenance and fix-it-yourself folklore a solution was extracted and then suggested by someone who heard from a friend that had a friend of an Uncle that fixed his own carburetor for little or no cost at all. Well now, that sort of advice seemed “somewhat” logical at the time, though I did have several reservations about the solutions pedigree but didn’t give voice to any one of them. After all, we are not supposed to look a gift horse in the mouth.

JEMDSC_0829-1lr

The Antique Snapper

So, I found myself taking my carburetor off the engine and soaking it and all the small pieces which could be removed in a large steel cooking pan full of PineSol kitchen cleaner.

The carburetor and associated parts were supposed to soak in the pleasant smelling liquid (Lavender scented picked up by accident) overnight …

Despite all the cleaning and diligent polishing, the carburetor still didn’t work though for a few days the old Snapper smelled quite pleasant. So during the winter months, I saved my change in Mason jars. By the time my efforts were counted out, I had saved half the cost of the new, highly prized part. And it worked beautifully. I put it on the engine, vented out the air from the gasoline lines and it started with hardly a whimper or hint of protest.

Well, off I went down through the backyard and back forty. I cut each section twice since the grass had gone free range during the winter and had gotten quite tall in places. And of course twice during the cutting, the mower blade belt came off which facilitated stopping and re-threading the serpentine beast. This had to be done despite hot parts and cramped spaces that have a tendency to pinch, scrape, cut and burn hands, wrists, and fingers.

Oh well … onward and upward …

So … off I went to the parts store for a new mower deck belt which turned out to be cheaper than I thought it would be. Next came the semi-difficult task of putting it on. Years ago I had put a new belt on the old machine and all I could remember about the experience was that it was exceptionally difficult. Pushing the antique Snapper into position out by the shed went smoothly. Yep … onward and upward as they say.

Oh well … onward and upward. That statement comes home to roost being that the task in the description proved easier said … than done. The installation of a new mower deck belt requires for the rear-end of the old Snapper to be elevated. This was accomplished with an old car jack and a quantity of various sizes of broken concrete which was of proven quality since each piece had been used many times over.

A large flat corrugated box was placed on the ground behind the mower since I had to lay flat on my stomach and perch on my elbows in order to reach into the machine to persuade and align the belt into proper position. Yeah … the problem with that type of superficial instructions is that this belt alignment and placement has to be mostly done by touch since there are only a few small holes in the rear of the mower to look into and see what was going on. The sun darting in and out of the clouds was an annoyance. But a successful installation is possible even under adverse conditions. By memory, I had put two new belts on the mower deck over the last four years or so.

****

Read on  … Part 2 of 2 of  … The Snapper Mower … A Worthy Adversary …

 

For Additional Photographs Click on This 500 px Link …

For More Additional Photographs Click On This Flicker Link …

 

Author: geezer94

I was told by my grandfather that if you are destined to hang you'll never drown. I have never been afraid of water . . .

3 thoughts on “The Old Guy … The Snapper Mower … A Worthy Adversary … Part 1 of 2

  1. Hi G! I had to laugh at “lavender scented picked up by accident”! I remember picking up lavender scented Pine Sol on purpose, and with some delight when I first saw it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The lavender scent made me laugh as well! Onward to Part 2.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well done! I loved the part about the lavender scent 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

