geezer94

Old Guy Photography

The Old Guy … For That Moment … I Was The Center Of Attention …

9 Comments

For That Moment … I Was The Center Of Attention …

I normally have a steadfast rule that I do not associate/become familiar/friendly or mildly civil with critters/animals/creatures and or amphibians that are to huge/large/difficult/ or far to quick to handle and or are of indifferent/hateful/aggressive or stealthy temperament with stereotypical shifty or illusive eyes.

“But” … and yeah I know, there’s the exceptional one in a hundred addendum to the steadfast set of rules. “But” … I wanted to take some photographs of this years crop of new horses with their mothers. Seems like a reasonable photographic shoot. Click, click, click and out of there. The new small critters were supposed to be cute and I have a fondness for cute.

JEMDSC_1635-1lr

They Moved In Closer …

I had some experience with four-hoved critters of the equine persuasion.

Once before, I had a photo shoot with some exceptionally large heavy load pulling draft horses. That shoot went well with only a few exceptions, which I will detail later, and the images were later used in a book. One photo shoot was at a mule/horse pull and I shot that event sitting comfortably in the stands with a 300 mm lens. Yet another photograph taken, looking into the Mitza Smith Small Critter and Horse Sanctuary from the roadway, hangs proudly in the Russell County Library. So I have a little bit of experience with that type of photography.

JEMDSC_1636-1lr

A Look Back Before Disappearing Into The Shade …

I planned the shoot carefully … being mindful that I would be around critters that would, given the right set of circumstances, bite the fire out of me. To get on their good side, I filled my pockets with small red apples. Hopefully, that would work. When I shot the Spotted Draft Horses, I had filled my pockets with carrots. I thought everything and everybody loved carrots. Turned out the super large beasts of burden didn’t know what a carrot was and paid little attention to either of us though a Billy Goat proved troubling and relentlessly worrisome. Fortunately, the Mitza Smith Small Critter and Horse Sanctuary doesn’t have goats or goat related critters. It does have a remarkable amount of dogs that you just want to hug and wish you could take home.

A gentle giant … He was also much like a Pied Piper …

I lay on the ground and scooted carefully under the fence. Not an easy task for a fat Old Guy managing a hardwood walking cane, two cameras and several pockets full of small red apples. I do think it took the horses by surprise. Most of them retreated deeper into the shade. But … I pressed on despite poor light and an uneasy feeling. Then I noticed a large grey and white spotted fellow coming my way. He was an old friend who I had photographed over the years. A gentle giant who is special. He was also much like a Pied Piper … behind him came the miniatures.

JEMDSC_1640-1lr

                   Making An apple Snack Disappear …

I gave the grey an apple which he took eagerly. He stepped away to eat his prize in peace. The void he left was filled with a host of minis pressing forward. To my left and right the small horses came. My back was against the fence and I was in an instant trapped. But …. for that moment, I was the center of attention. For that moment. Unfortunately, it took about two minutes to empty my pockets of miniature horse feed, the last apple went to the grey.

Everyone was nipping at my pockets. Like sharks that had smelled blood, they kept taste testing my overalls. Being short of stature, each one had easy access to my pockets, front and back. Desperately, I inched down the fence towards my intended exit all he time rubbing little heads and talking with an old friends from way back voice which can be soothing. By now they had lost their fear of a stranger in their midst. I smelled of the promise of sweet apples …

I shouldn’t have bent over to lay my cameras down on the other side of the fence. That only encouraged some serious taste testing on my rear pockets despite the fact neither had at any time contained apples during the morning or shoot. I got down on the hard ground and scooted through the horse fence in record time for a fat Old Guy. That escape maneuver I believe … took them all by surprise. They stood staring at me

I had escaped with an assumed small bit of dignity left, no discernible miniature horse bite marks, and a few photographs. I’ll have to go back one of these days, but the next time I will go earlier for better light and carry more apples with me. Yes definitely … I’ll carry more apples.

******

 

Next Week Or So … Something Interesting or something current … just don’t know …

For Additional Photographs Click on This Link

For More Additional Photographs Click On This Flicker Link …

 

Author: geezer94

I was told by my grandfather that if you are destined to hang you'll never drown. I have never been afraid of water . . .

9 thoughts on “The Old Guy … For That Moment … I Was The Center Of Attention …

  1. Funny story. I had a similar experience at a petting zoo where a goat apparently thought my purse was a feed bag. You might be better off leaving the apples at home next time. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Ms Sheila … or I could take a large bag with me … I didn’t think it would be like going to the dog pound with a pork chop hanging from around my neck and I don’t know if any of them were listening to my dialogue. I was really amazed that no one stepped on me. Even from the mini-s that would have ruined my week. 🙂
      g

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Very funny. I could just imagine the experience. Love the photos, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey John. Enjoyed the story and photos. The horses, large and small are so entertaining.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh that was so fun! I can picture them frisking you for snacks 🙂 Great photographs!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

