geezer94

Old Guy Photography

The Old Guy … Tired Eyes … An Impromptu Portrait …

6 Comments

JEMCSC_1743-1lr

When I studied a new self-portrait in the editing program, the eyes staring back at me grasped my complete attention. They projected a sense of physical and mental exhaustion; depleted of free will and close to exhibiting a veil of protective indifference.

On first thought, my eyes didn’t look like those of a seventy year old man. But then … maybe they did and I was masking a protective delusion with a grain of hope.

And I found that my smile lacked commitment … being in all probability a pathetic effort at expressing a pleasantry …

It had been a long day of fighting the depression dragon with sporadic yard and house work keeping me busy during the interlude. The July heat had been daunting … it would suck the breath right out of you should you not pay the sultry demon its just due. In the background of my mind, the struggle between mental factions had been trying … but I suppose it was hopefully more of a constant distraction than mental or physical danger.

The spur-of-the-moment or impromptu self-portrait was a low priority photograph of slight interest and or necessity. I haven’t updated my profile photographs in a good while and really, up until the moment of the image capture, I hadn’t even thought much about it. But then … I found myself in the kitchen with camera and tripod … needing to sit down … and tired idle hands …*

****

*Editor’s Note: This profile photograph was shot three days before the little Gretchen Dog unexpectedly passed away.

Next Week Or So … I Just Don’t Know …

For Additional Photographs Click on This 500 px Link …

For More Additional Photographs Click On This Flicker Link …

Author: geezer94

I was told by my grandfather that if you are destined to hang you'll never drown. I have never been afraid of water . . .

6 thoughts on “The Old Guy … Tired Eyes … An Impromptu Portrait …

  1. Oh no, I’m so very sorry about Gretchen. She was such a wonderful little companion to you in your writing. You are a brave soul to even get in front of a camera lens at such a time. Please write about her life when you have time to process it and grieve about all this. May she rest in peace.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My thoughts are with you, G! I’m so sorry about Gretchen! What a shock! Please be good to yourself and spend time with friends at the diner and cafe. Wishing you renewed energy and sparkle!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. May you find some comfort so your eyes project joy again.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It is all that, but more. There are memories in your eyes, deeply layered, an accepting calmness in your face that only comes after years of wrestling with life. So sorry about your dog. I would struggle to move beyond that.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I still cannot believe she is not with you anymore. Gretchen was a very playful and happy little thing. She wouldn’t like you being depressed.
    Hold on to your photography.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You must have had a keen sensitivity about Gretchen when you took this self portrait and sought to explain in words the unexplained malaise. I can tell you are a strong person and I know you will regain the light in your eyes. But first, give yourself time to mourn your beloved friend.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

